New My Bloody Valentine Reissues And EP Compilation

Shoegaze might not have been as popular in the late 80s and early 90s as it has been of late. And with the microgenre’s undisputable leaders My Bloody Valentine headlining festivals the past couple of years, it seemed inevitable that reissues/remasters would eventually be forthcoming.

Well that day has come, as Sony will be releasing new CD versions of 1989’s Isn’t Anything and 1991’s Loveless, which were remastered by MBV leader Kevin Shields at Metropolis Studios in London, UK. These come out through the label on May 7 in the UK, and likely the next day in North America.

Isn’t Anything will feature the same 12-song tracklist as the original version of the album, while Loveless will come with a second disc containing what a press release calls “a previous remastering from original analogue tapes, completed by Kevin Shields but never released.”

Perhaps even more exciting than the reissues is the announcement of a compilation called EPs 1988-1991. In addition to including the four EPs — 1988’s You Made Me Realize, 1988’s Feed Me with Your Kiss, 1990’s Glider and 1991’s Tremelo — it contains an assortment of rare B-sides and even a few previously unreleased cuts.

Of course, devoted followers will know that much of this rare material has already been collected in various bootlegs and fanclub vinyl pressings, but a full-scale commercial release is big news nonetheless.

The tracklists are below. We haven’t included separate listings for the two discs of Loveless, since they both contain the same songs.

Isn’t Anything:

1. Soft as Snow (But Warm Inside)
2. Lose My Breath
3. Cupid Come
4. (When You Wake) You’re Still in a Dream
5. No More Sorry
6. All I Need
7. Feed Me With Your Kiss
8. Sueisfine
9. Several Girls Galore
10. You Never Should
11. Nothing Much to Lose
12. I Can See It (But I Can’t Feel It)


1. Only Shallow
2. Loomer
3. Touched
4. To Here Knows When
5. When You Sleep
6. I Only Said
7. Come in Alone
8. Sometimes
9. Blown a Wish
10. What You Know
11. Soon

EPs 1988-1991:

Disc 1:

1. You Made Me Realise *
2. Slow *
3. Thorn *
4. Cigarette in Your Bed *
5. Drive It All Over Me *
6. Feed Me With Your Kiss ^
7. I Believe ^
8. Emptiness Inside ^
9. I Need No Trust ^
10. Soon ~
11. Don’t Ask Why ~
12. Off Your Face ~

* from You Made Me Realise EP
^ from Feed Me With Your Kiss EP
~ from Glider EP

Disc 2:

1. To Here Knows When #
2. Swallow #
3. Honey Power #
4. Moon Song #
5. Instrumental no. 2. %
6. Instrumental no.1. %
7. Glider (full-length version) &
8. Sugar &
9. Angel *
10. Good for You *
11. How Do You Do It *

# from Tremolo EP
% from bonus seven-inch single
& previously released B-side
* previously unreleased

Kevin Shields interview, via YouTube:

This entry was posted in CDs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.